Preliminary Task Evaluation Questions

  1. Doing a preliminary task has taught me a lot about filming and editing. The tasks we had to do consisted of: learning continuity editing, use continuity editing, learn and use three point lighting, use natural lighting, try new various shots and movements, writing a script, designing a storyboard and finally organising and shooting my film.

Continuity editing is about making sure each shot flows from one another, and making sure the cuts aren’t too harsh. It also means making the shots consistent. I made a video demonstrating this, showing that I understood how to edit shots to make them flow from oner another.

Since learning about three point lighting, I have been able to use that to my advantage in certain areas of the course. I have also learnt how important lighting can be, as it can demonstrate many emotions and how one is feeling, and can also mean getting the best shot possible for the piece. I then decided how to use lighting in my preliminary task, however as I wanted to portray that it was night it was very tricky to do so without over lighting the actors. SO I used the leith to make each character visible to the camera whilst getting the desired effect I wanted.

Now I know more about how to use lighting to my advantage, I plan on using it in the future, as I was unable to use three point lighting in my video as I was portraying that it was night time.

I learnt many new camera shots, movements and angles in the process of my preliminary task. This was very useful as it allowed me to show each character in the desired way I wanted the audience to perceive them, whilst using new angles to give the video some variation.

Writing a script was very difficult as I had never done it before, however after taking inspiration from some of my favourite films, I was able to come up with a script that I liked. It took me three attempts to get it right, after writing a script and then filming it, I realised each time that it just wasn’t right. I learnt how to write a script in a professional format, and how to write directions for my actors.

I also was fairly new to creating storyboards, as this was only the second one I had done. This was very useful to me as I was constantly using it to direct my actors, and direct myself in where to film them from.

Creating the scene for my shoot was also new to me as in previous films I hadn’t made any effort with lighting or camera angles or shots. When I was creating the scene I had to get a man to move his van, to a place where it would be able to look like my main character had been ran over by it. I also then placed lights on the van hood and above the camera to get my desired affect. I learned how much work it is to create the set you want, and also how careful you need to be while filming and directing to make sure you get it so that each shot is fluid into the next.

2.

 

3. I received 1 piece of feedback from my friend Will who has completed his preliminary task, and I have returned the favour. His feedback was that I should make the transition from each shot more smooth. I have used many different fades from shot to shot. I have had to do this because when it happens they’re talking and the camera shot is over the shoulder. When I change shot angle the actors aren’t in the same place and has poor continuity which is why I had to add fades.

Leave a comment